North Georgia Slip and Fall Lawyer
Slip and Fall Accident Claims in Georgia
Slipping and falling can happen in an instant. One moment you are walking normally and the next your foot goes out from under you and you fall to the ground, perhaps striking your head against a shelf, a desk, or the ground itself.
At Pritchard Injury Firm, we help those injured in slip and fall (or trip and fall) accidents receive the compensation they deserve. Slip and fall accidents can cause devastating injuries, including brain damage. You need a compassionate legal team to help you recover.
Call us at (470) 577-8152 today to speak with our Georgia slip and fall attorney.
What to Do Following a Slip and Fall Accident
You could be in incredible pain following your slip and fall. However, if you can move around, then we recommend that you take simple steps that will increase your ability to obtain compensation.
For example, try to do the following:
- Take a picture of the hazard that caused you to slip or trip: As any slip and fall attorney will tell you, one picture is worth a thousand words. If you slipped on spilled liquids, use your smartphone to get a quick picture. If you don’t have a phone (or if it was damaged in the fall), ask someone else to get a picture and send it to you.
- Talk to witnesses: Did someone see you fall? Did they see the hazard that you tripped or slipped on? If so, get their name and contact information. Your slip and fall accident lawyer might need to use their testimony to establish liability for your injuries.
- Obtain insurance information: If you fell on private property, the owner should have insurance. A business will have a business liability policy and a homeowner may have homeowners’ insurance. Ask for the name and contact information of the insurance company.
- Go to the hospital: You should seek medical attention, even if you feel “okay” after the fall. Some injuries are slow to develop. For example, people with a concussion might not notice symptoms for 24 hours. The same is true of back injuries and other soft-tissue injuries. Remember to follow your doctor’s advice.
There is also one thing you shouldn’t do after a slip and fall accident. Do not give a recorded statement to the property owner’s insurer. Georgia law does not require you to do so, and you might say something you do not really mean. Instead of speculating about your accident with insurance companies, let your Georgia slip and fall attorney communicate with insurance adjusters on your behalf.
Can I Sue for a Slip and Fall Injury?
A lawsuit can help you receive compensation for your injuries, including funds for:
- Medical bills
- Lost wages
- Property damage
- Pain and suffering
- Emotional distress
- And more
Statute of Limitations for Slip and Fall Injuries in Georgia
Injured victims only have a short amount of time to file a lawsuit and protect their rights after a slip and fall accident.
Under OCGA § 9-3-33, a personal injury victim typically has two years to file a lawsuit in court. If the victim misses this deadline, then a judge can toss the case out of court, which means that the person responsible for the dangerous condition does not have to pay any compensation.
If you were injured on public property, then you can also sue but you have even less time. Generally, you only get 6 months to notify a government agency of your injury.
Some exceptions apply to the statute of limitations, but you should not rely on them. Instead, reach out to one of our trip and fall attorneys as soon as possible.
Contact Our Georgia Slip and Fall Attorney Today
If you slipped or tripped on someone else’s property, you should meet with a lawyer to determine if you have a valid legal claim. Many of our clients have received favorable settlements after a fall, and we want to help you, too. Pritchard Injury Firm has one of the most empathetic legal teams in the business. We will put ourselves in your shoes, so you get the legal advice you need, and we can fight for the goals you want to achieve.
You are more than just a case number or a statistic to us. To meet with us, please call (470) 577-8152 or send us a message online.
We offer consultations, free of charge or obligation. Our firm helps victims of slip and fall injuries in North Georgia, Cobb County, Cherokee County, and throughout the great state of Georgia.
Proving Negligence in Slip and Fall Claims
To bring a valid lawsuit, you must show that the person in charge of the property was negligent and breached their duties under state law. The Official Code of Georgia Annotated (OCGA) imposes certain duties on landowners, including a duty to keep visitors safe.
Your legal rights in a slip and fall accident will depend largely on your status as a visitor:
- Invitee: An invitee is someone invited onto a property. The invitation can be express or implied and covers businesses that open their doors to the public. Property owners owe the highest duty of care to invitees.
- Licensee: A licensee is someone allowed to come onto property for their own purposes. For example, renters are typically licensees. Property owners owe certain duties to licensees, but there are special rules for tenants and the duty of care is generally lower than it is for invitees.
- Trespasser: A trespasser enters or remains on the property without the permission of the landowner. Property owners must only refrain from “intentionally, willfully, or wantonly” causing them harm.
If you are an invitee, then OCGA § 51-3-1 states that the owner or occupier owes you a duty of reasonable care. Generally, this means the property owner should identify hazards and either fix them or warn you in order to keep you safe.
If a store owner mops the floor and does not warn customers, for example, he has probably violated his duty of care and can be sued. The same is true if a store owner does not regularly check the aisles for debris or spilled liquids, which can cause a customer to slip or trip.
You do not need to know your status before speaking with a legal professional. The line between invitee and licensee can be difficult to discern, especially if you were injured at the home of a friend or relative.
You also may not know whether or not the property owner in question used sufficient care as required by the law. Instead of trying to guess whether you have a legal claim, meet with one of our Georgia slip and fall attorneys to review your case.